The Common Vision

In Edmonton, our health innovation stakeholders have united to demonstrate the power and strength of our robust health assets. With a common vision, the work in Edmonton is being accelerated to the marketplace with the goal of attracting and retaining top talent, funding and partnerships.


Innovation in Edmonton doesn’t happen by accident – an influential and supportive environment makes it possible. The public, private, not-for-profit and philanthropic sectors are united in creating an ecosystem ripe for innovation. 

Read More »


Health City was created by a dedicated collective from across the eco-system, whose aim is to create the best environment possible for innovators within their field. We are here to help you navigate the health innovation sector in Edmonton, find business development opportunities and engage with relevant stakeholders.

Connect with us »


Our list of connected businesses, suppliers, and associated institutions that help to advance health technologies.

View the Directory


Meet our partners who have laid the foundation for Health City and helped to get the initiative started.

See who is involved

Why Edmonton

World leading health innovation. A powerful support network. A city that takes risks.

Learn More


Network Governance Model – Our governance model is about enabling the continued engagement of participants in our health innovation system. It’s about optimizing results of a connected network of engaged participants.


Elements of Health City Governance

Board of Directors

Standing Committees



The leadership team was established to provide strategic direction for the implementation of the vision and objectives.

Dr. Jodi Abbott

Chair, President & CEO
NorQuest College‎


Dr. Lorne Babiuk

Vice President, Research, University of Alberta


Carolyn Campbell

Deputy City Manager, Communications and Engagement


Ryan Kelly

Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Mayor


Karen Wichuk

Executive Lead, Health City


Adam Sweet

Chief of Staff, Edmonton Economic Development Corporation


Jenny Adams

Brand and Communications Lead, Health City


Karen Berry

Executive Assistant, Health City


Latest News

Appointment of Interim CEO – Reg Joseph

Health City is very pleased to announce that Reg Joseph has accepted the position of Interim Chief Executive Officer. Reg will take on the role beg

Read More

Lois Hole Hospital’s da Vinci Robotic Surgical System

Join Kari Skelton as she discovers the Lois Hole Hospital's da Vinci Robotic Surgical System - the only one in Canada dedicated to women's health.

Read More

Health City Podcast, Episode 6 – Guest: Dr. Michael Hawkes

Meet Dr. Michael Hawkes, an Edmonton doctor who has developed a low-cost, life-saving piece of equipment that will help treat young pneumonia patien

Read More

View all news

Steering Committee

The steering committee is comprised of key executives from across the health innovation ecosystem. The members have helped refine the vision and scope for the Health City Initiative.

Jodi Abbott (Dr.), Chair
President & CEO, NorQuest College

Bob Westbury (Dr.)
Co-Chair to October 2017

Carl Amrhein (Dr.)
Deputy Minister, Alberta Health

Lorne Babiuk (Dr.)
VP Research, U of A

Brian Bloom
Co-Founder, Bloom Burton & Co.

John Brown
ADM, Science & Innovation, Economic Development & Trade

Carolyn Campbell
Deputy City Manager, Communications & Public Engagement

Richard Fedorak (Dr.)
Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, U of A

Martin Ferguson-Pell (Dr.)
Professor, Faculty of Rehab Medicine, Peter Lougheed College

Neil Fraser
President, Medtronic

Mark Joffe (Dr.)
VP & Medical Director for Northern Alberta, AHS

Reg Joseph
VP Health, Alberta Innovates

Allen Lalonde
Sr. Executive, IBM Canada Research & Development

Paul Lepage
President, Telus Health

David Mador (Dr.) (to April 2017)

VP & Medical Director for Northern Alberta, AHS

Dave Mowat
President & CEO, ATB Financial

Jason Pincock

Ray Pisani
President & CEO, Alberta Blue Cross

Justin Riemer
ADM, External & Stakeholder Relations, Alberta Health

Kathryn Todd (Dr.)
VP, Research, Innovation & Analysis, AHS

Pamela Valentine (Dr.) (to April 2017)

Interim CEO, Alberta Innovates

Karen Wichuk, Executive Lead

Kristina Williams
President & CEO, Alberta Enterprise Corporation

Mel Wong
President & CEO, BioAlberta

Randy Yatscoff (Dr.)
Executive VP, Business Development, TEC Edmonton